Learning how to read progress – Shhh! (sh, ch & th)

My two 5 year olds have just reached a new milestone on their reading journey.
sh, ch and th !

Songbirds book 'This and That' for practising SH CH and TH

Songbirds book 'This and That' for practising SH CH and TH

Just those 3 sounds open up a whole new world of words to read.

I’ve been building a custom reading curriculum, borrowing materials, ideas and exercises here and there.
Right now what works best for us is just following the Songbirds phonics book series by Julia Donaldson and progressing at that pace.

Whatever reading curriculum you are using (even if your child is learning how to read in school), I cannot recommend highly enough this book series. I guess I can just say: It’s JULIA DONALDSON! (Author of the Gruffalo, Room on the Broom, The Snail and the Whale). That means quality writing with interesting and varied and even humorous subjects for children. The books help build confidence by taking one step at a time. The illustrations are on the spot and compensate for the small amount of writing in the first books. But as the child progresses, the amount of writing increases and goes more in depth of the story.

Songbirds phonics books by Julia Donaldson

Songbirds phonics books by Julia Donaldson

We are now on stage 2 of the series (there are 6 stages). I’ll write a more complete post about all the materials I use to teach my children how to read and about the Songbirds series later on.

If you have a post about your children’s reading journey, I’d love to check it out!

