CVC words worksheet for children learning how to read

CVC words worksheet

CVC words worksheet

This morning, during our sit down working time with my two 5 year old boys, I had them do this activity sheet I had prepared myself. If you wish to use it, you can download it here : CVC_words_worksheet_cut_and_glue
The pictures were sourced on Internet and I’m afraid I can’t give credit to any of the owners as I wasn’t paying attention to where I got them.

It’s a quite simple activity: I had them cut out the pictures and glue them in the right boxes I had drawn on their workbooks.
There was plenty of fine motor skills being trained (they need to work with scissors more often).
And of course there was plenty of decoding, sounding out and blending. This was already too easy for my boys, but it helps build their confidence in their capacity to do things alone and trust their knowledge.

CVC words worksheet

CVC words worksheet

If you have downloaded the pdf file and are wondering what a Zog is… We’ve been working with the Songbirds Phonics book series by Julia Donaldson (I LOOOVE Julia Donaldson – SOOO much more ever since I discovered this book series). It is from the book “The Odd Pet” and to quote the book itself: “But Viv has an odd pet. It is a zog! Not a cat, not a dog, but a Zog. The Zog is fat. It has ten red legs. It can run and hop. It can sit and beg. Julia Donaldson wrote another book called ZOG, but the picture of the Zog is different in the two books and I can’t say they are the same “animals” because I haven’t had the chance to reed her other book.

Have fun!

