How-to: make fingerless mittens

Fingerless mittens

Fingerless mittens

I made these super easy mittens in about a half hour (pattern drafting, testing and all included).

I made these for my children, but you could easily follow the steps to make adult sizes.

I started by tracing my kids hand print (with fingers spread to their maximum.
Over that I traced out a pattern for the mittens: I added width on all sides, especially around the wrist (the hand is 3D and I traced a projection 2D image) and cut off the fingers in a neat line so that the hand remains covered.
Just look at the picture with the pattern for reference.

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece

I pinned the pattern piece to two layers of some jersey knit scraps I had around and cut one pair out (4 identical pieces in all). Make sure that you place the pattern on the fabric so that the maximum stretch goes horizontally.

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece with sewing lines

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece with sewing lines

I sewed up the side seams, and the seam between the thumb and pointer, leaving room for the thumb. See picture. And I assure you that I did nothing more for the thumb. The fact that there is a little seam allowance takes care of covering the thumb more. I hadn’t expected that when sewing them, it’s just an added bonus. I did no hem as jersey doesn’t unravel; at worst it will curl a little.

That’s it.

If you wish to separate the fingers, you can add a step: after turning the mitten right side out, top stitch small lines to separate each finger, this is pretty basic but I’ve seen expensive fingerless mittens constructed like this (and I laughed at how cheap they were for the price!)
You might just want to add a little height to the mittens before as those lines do tend to dig into the skin between the fingers a little.

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece with sewing lines and optional finger separations

Fingerless mittens and pattern piece with sewing lines and optional finger separations

This is a perfect indoor- or chilly-day-hand-warmer (you could use other warmer materials as long as it has stretch to it for use outdoors in freezing weather) or added accessory for any costume (knight, pirate, warrior, sorcerer, dragon slayer, you name it   – yup, I have boys!).

Have fun!

