How to: make your own triovision board game

Triovision board game

Triovision board game

Lately I was looking up fun games that are simple enough to be built at home with recycled materials and I stumbled upon this game: Triovision.
Although I hate the name and the commercial aspect of using super words (“the person with the most cards is the super-triovision-visionary!!” to try to sell more games, I do find the game good.

The aim of the game is to move one of the pawns and by that move, reproduce one of the constellations on the cards that are surrounding the board.
All players play simultaneously; when you spot a possible match, you say stop, make your move and win the card. You can change the rules around a little and make it a collective-winning game (the found card isn’t won by the person who found it, but is put in a commom “found” pile).
The box says it is for children from 7 years old and up, but it is easy enough to understand for 5 years old also, maybe even 4 year olds. It all depends on the pace of each played game: if I play with my 5 year olds, I won’t play as attentively as if I play with my hubby.

Triovision board game

Triovision board game

What I like about the game is that I can build it myself from recycled material and not have to spend a dime (well, maybe one dime for the paper and bit of ink needed 😉 )

What I like most about the game: it integrates perfectly into our math-awareness homeschooling sessions.

After building it myself, I created a PDF file with the templates I used for the cards and an explanation on how to build the game. You can download it here:

Spot_the_pattern_aka_triovision_game_build_it_yourself_template

What you need:

  • card stock or any thick white paper, 5-8 sheets, depending on how many cards you want to make
  • a piece of cardboard
  • felt tip markers, ruler
  • 8 bottle caps (2 of 4 different colors preferably blue, green, red and yellow, but replace any missing color by white bottle caps and paint them with acrylic paint)

All the explanations to building the game are in the downloadable PDF file.

Have the children participate in the construction of the game! After you finish cutting out all the cards, have your children color in the dots, tell them that they must be careful not to make two cards identical. Depending on their age, you might have to assist them a little; for example my children did a bunch of cards (with me by their side, helping them make sure a constellation hadn’t already been made), then I finished alone finding the last possibilities.

Have fun!

